The North Sri Lanka Region

The Tamil people claim the North Sri Lanka Region as their home. When civil war erupted between Tamil extremists and the Sinhalese, the North became the most affected region in the country. Much of the area was closed off to travel, leaving beaches and other tourist spots desolate.

The North Sri Lanka Region has 10 districts, each with unique qualities. Polonnaruwa is considered the “medieval capital of Sri Lanka” and contains larger-than-life statues of Buddha carved on the sides of the mountains. Another district has many reservoirs that the ancient kings of Sri Lanka constructed, some of which have transformed into swampy lakes.

The North Sri Lanka Region

Hide this / Don't show me again


Go Into All
The World

GFA's Bridge Builders answer
the Great Commission

Learn More